Spotify and Russell Simmons' All Def Digital unite for new 'Traffic Jams' video series

Spotify and Russell Simmons' All Def Digital unite for new 'Traffic Jams' video series


Spotify and Russell Simmons’ All Def Digital have revealed plans for their new video series Traffic Jams. The project challenges a rapper and producer (who’ve never worked together) to write a song in the back of an SUV while stuck in LA’s rush hour traffic en route to their destination: a gig in front of hundreds of fans where they will perform the new song on the Spotify-All Def Stage. Artists such as T-Pain, Joey Bada$$ and E-40 have been confirmed to appear.

The series, which is intended to give music fans an insight into the creative process of artists and producers, is set to begin on April 4, and will take place every Tuesday for eight weeks.  

Speaking about the series, All Def Digital co-founder Russell Simmons said: “Our team at All Def Digital has been doing an incredible job developing and producing a variety of new series and formats across music, comedy and culture.  Traffic Jams is an exciting new premium series that shows off true talent -- recording artists and producers -- and their ingenuity, creativity and personalities.  It has improvisation, it has performances, and I'm pretty sure it will spawn a few new hits too -- it's amazing and Spotify is the perfect platform for it.”

“Our audience loves hip hop and with Traffic Jams we want to give them a deeper understanding of the artists and the creative process behind the music,” added Tom Calderone, global head of Spotify Studios. “Working with the All Def Digital team, we were able to produce a best in class hip hop series that tells stories that have never been told before and takes the musical performance format to another level.”

All of the episodes will appear on Spotify under Spotify Original Videos – the schedule is as follows:  

April 4 - T-Pain & Southside
April 11 - Dram & Melo X
April 18 - Joey Bada$$ & Cardo
April 25 - Pell & !llmind
May 2 - Jidena & Sonny Digital
May 9 - Madeintoyo & Araabmuzik
May 16 - Dae Dae & Marvel Alexander
May 23 - E-40 & Willie B

You can watch the trailer for the series below:



subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...