Themed Playlists

GoNorth Playlist

goNORTH returns to the Highland Capital, Inverness, over the 4th and 5th of June with another multimedia package offering insights into the worlds of TV, Film, Literature, Digital and of course Music. The diverse conference programme boasts a range of key creative industry speakers, while the showcase element sees over 60 bands showcase across 10 city centre venues. Here we highlight some of the must-see acts on offer at this year’s event. 

10 tracks featuring  BABY STRANGE / Distance Yourself F**K ART LET’S DANCE / We're Manicals! SIOBHAN WILSON / All Dressed Up MACHINES IN HEAVEN / The National Monument SCHNARFF SCHNARFF / Fear MODEL AEROPLANES / Electricity FRIENDS IN AMERICA / The More I Have, The Less I Own (The More I Learn, The Less I Know) BROKEN RECORDS / Winterless Son MISS IRENIE ROSE / Peat Bog HECTOR BIZERK / Orchestrate NEON WALTZ / Sombre Fayre GRIEFJOY / Feel UNITED FRUIT / How Long (Change You Into Something Better)

GoNorth Playlist

A selection of the best new artists to play at the annual GoNorth festival and conference taking place in Scotland on June 5-6.

10 tracks featuring  Prides / Out Of The Blue Homework / All I See Casual Sex / Soft School Garden of Elks / Contended Contender Fake Major / Fiction Mike Nisbet / Not Long Kobi / All The Way Protection Patrol Pinkerton / The Future=Our Home Friends in America / Quietly, Quietly Amelia Lily / California Hector Bizerk / Orchestrate The Layabouts / Here With You

Converse Get Dirty

Converse’s Get Dirty campaign features an 11 city tour celebrating the ‘uncompromising mindset of throwing yourself in headfirst’. The below playlist showcases the impressive artists playing the tour - which hit London’s legendary 100 Club last week...

10 tracks featuring  The Cribs / Come On, Be A No-One Drenge / Bloodsports China Rats / Nip It In The Bud Ghostface Killah / Purified Thoughts Doom / Retarded Fren featuring Thom Yorke Bishop Nehru / Welcome Gallows / Cross of Lorraine Carnival Kids / Fear Of Nothing Hoax / Bitter Angry Fake

IMPALA European Independent Album of the Year nominees

Following its successful launch in 2011, the IMPALA European Independent Album of the Year Award is back for its third edition, with voting now taking place on an 18-album shortlist to decide this year’s winner.
This European Mercury-style award celebrates the musical talent and diversity of independent European releases. It promotes exceptional artists and the independent sector alike.

Who will succeed Adele, winner of the 2012 award with her album 21? The winner will be selected by a jury of IMPALA Board members, who have four weeks to vote.

You can listen to select tracks from the nominated albums below, or check them out on IMPALA's own Spotify playlist.

The full list of nominees is:

Afterhours – Padania (Germi) 

Alt-J – An Awesome Wave (Infectious) 

Compact Disco – Sound Of Our Hearts (CLS) 

Cro – Raop (Chimperator) 

Django Django – Django Django (Because Music)  

El Perro Del Mar – Pale Fire (Ingrid) 

Enter Shikari – A Flash Flood of Colour (Ambush Reality) 

First Aid Kit – The Lion's Roar (Wichita) 

Frenkie – Troyanac (Menart) 

John Talabot – ƒIN (Permanent Vacation)  

Jukka Poika – Yhdestä puusta (Suomen Musiikki)   

Kaizers Orchestra – Violeta Violeta Vol. III (Petroleum Records) 

The Kyteman Orchestra – The Kyteman Orchestra (Kytopia) 

Libar – Libar (Menart) 

Netsky – 2 (Hospital Records) 

Norberto Lobo – Mel Azul (Mbari) 

Shaka Ponk – The Geeks and The Jerkin' Socks (Tôt ou Tard / Wagram) 

The xx – Coexist (XL Recordings)

10 tracks featuring  Afterhours / Le Tempesta E Alt-J / Breezeblocks Compact Disco / Sound of Our Hearts Cro / Einmal Um Die Welt Django Django / Default El Perro Del Mar / Walk On By Enter Shikari / Arguing With Thermometers First Aid Kit / The Lion's Roar Frenkie / Situacije John Talabot / When The Pas Was Present Kaizers Orchestra / Aldri Vodka Libar / Kapi Netsky / Come Alive Norberto Lobo / Lucia Lima The Kyteman Orchestra / The Mushroom Cloud The xx / Angels  Shaka Ponk / My Name Is Stain

Sounds of Ireland 2012

Music Week presents thirteen tracks from some of the hottest artists coming out of Ireland today.

10 tracks featuring  The Coronas / Mark My Words Electric Penguins / Highgate Hill Tupelo / Firefly Niall Boyle / A Place In The Sun dREA / Animal Raglans / Digging Holes The Walls / Phantom Power HAL / Magnificent The Dead Heavys / Lazarus Delorentos / Did We Ever Really Try Strange Boats / Teenage Love Convention Soldiers Can't Dance / Love

Jamaica Playlist 2012

Music Week presents seven tracks from some of the hottest artists coming out of Jamaica today.

10 tracks featuring  Little Roy / Lithium Busy Signal / Reggae Music Again Hollie Cook / And The Beat Goes On Peetah Morgan & Hollie Cook / Independent Jamaica Poirier feat. Natalie Storm / Gal U Good Prince Fatty feat. Hollie Cook / Got Your Money Toots And The Maytals / Monkey Man (Acoustic)

Rock Playlist 2012

Music Week presents eight blistering tracks of adrenaline-infused rock to bury the myth that the genre is dead.

10 tracks featuring  The Chapman Family / No More Tears Dyonisis / Of The Fear In This Moment / Blood Lahannya / Save Me The Manic Shine / My Woman (I Love Nothing About You) Mutiny On The Bounty / Artifacts Devin Townsend / Bend It Like Bender Violet Bones / Villains