The Music Week Playlist: November 13, 2017

The Music Week Playlist: November 13, 2017

Sigrid
Strangers (Island)

Sigrid’s massive 2017 continues with Strangers, which offers all you could want from a pop song: an instant chorus, a big synth hook and some sing-along ‘Woo!’s for good measure.

Contact Elspeth Merry
elspeth.merry@umusic.com


Raye (feat. Mr Eazi)
Decline (Polydor)

You’ll lose count of the pop references in Raye’s latest offering, which is lifted from an upcoming collaboration-based release due in 2018.

Contact Simon Jones
simon@simonjonespr.com


Young Fathers
Lord (Ninja Tune)

The sleeve of this comeback claims, ‘You can’t dance to it’, and moving to all the fuzz and rumbling is a challenge. Great song, though.

Contact Jon Wilkinson
jon@technique-pr.com


Sunflower Bean
I Was A Fool (Lucky Number)

The New Yorkers’ first single for new label Lucky Number is a dreamy jangle with a seriously good bassline, something never to be sniffed at.

Contact Natalie Quesnel
natalie@yesplease.fm


N.E.R.D (feat. Rihanna)
Lemon (N.E.R.D Music/Columbia)

Pharrell’s crew resurface with a solid lesson in how to come back after seven years away. Featuring Rihanna and bags of swagger.

Contact James Windle
james.windle@dawbell.com


Hookworms
Negative Space (Domino)

Hookworms sure have returned with a surprise, swapping their psychedelic noise for jittery
four-to-the-floor disco.

Contact Sam Williams
sam@dominorecordco.com


Emeli Sandé (feat. Giggs)
Higher (Virgin EMI)

High Street-friendly soul rubs up against swampy UK rap on this slovenly new one from Sandé’s new Kingdom Coming EP, out now.

Contact Laura Sinclair
laura.sinclair@dawbell.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...