Music Week Playlist: January 9, 2017

Music Week Playlist: January 9, 2017

London Grammar
Rooting For You
Metal & Dust/ Ministry Of Sound

The Nottingham trip-hoppers’ return makes sense at the beginning of a new year – this is powerful, reflective and just the right amount of sad.
Contact Chloe Melick
chloe@insideslashout.com

The xx
Say Something Loving
Young Turks

The latest cut from upcoming record I See You, out January 13, sees the London trio move off the dancefloor and into a dark corner for a cuddle.
Contact Jon Wilkinson
jon@technique-pr.com

Aphex Twin
tnodvood104
Warp

A late, trippy and rather hushed Christmas present from Richard David James. Top marks for faraway humming and ahhing.
Contact Leah Ellis
leah@warprecords.com

Tyga
Feel Me (feat. Kanye West)
Good Music

Yeezy’s third consecutive New Year drop comes in the shape of a slick, doped-out hook up with his protégé Tyga. For when you’re feeling smooth.
Contact Anthony Martini
Anthony@thecmsn.com

Action Bronson
Dealer Plates
Vice

Included on Brooklyn producer Harry Fraud’s Rogues Vol.2 playlist, out now, this matches louche funk with Bronson’s beefy, profane bars.
Contact Ryan Cunningham
Ryanc@biz3.net

The Avalanches
Bad Day (feat. Freddie Gibbs)
XL Recordings

It may be a rough mix, but Bad Day finely exhibits the Aussie electro magpies’ knack for swing and soul.
Contact Leah Wilson
leahwilson@xlrecordings.com

U
Ascension Hymn
Phantasy Sound

Out now on Erol Alkan’s Phantasy Sound, this is a lengthy (the full version is 13 minutes), hypnotic and banging slab of gritty techno.
Contact Seb Burford
seb@worldwidefriendlysociety.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...