The Music Week Playlist: April 10, 2017

The Music Week Playlist: April 10, 2017

Bossman Birdie
Walk The Walk,
Island

An unstoppable grime banger from the fantastically-named Bossman Birdie. Production from Skepta will ensure some extra heat, too.

Contact Elspeth Merry
elspeth.merry@umusic.com

 

Conner Youngblood & Nylo
Everyday,
Counter Records

Nashville-via-Dallas musician Youngblood partners with singer Nylo for a super-chilled single that makes every day feel like Sunday.

Contact James Heather
james@ninjatune.net


Mellah
Round,
Lucky Number

Following Cosmo Pyke and Cosima this year, here’s another promising product of Peckham. Deep, dark-hued songwriting that’s a bit twisted.

Contact Joe Parry
joe@insideslashout.com


Slowdive
Sugar For The Pill, 
Dead Oceans

Anything Ride can do… The spaced out second cut from Slowdive’s first record in 22 years cements 2017 as the year of the shoegaze comeback.

Contact Michelle Kambasha
michelle@secretlygroup.com

Kendrick Lamar
Be Humble,
Top Dawg Ent/Interscope/Polydor

The second Kendrick song in two weeks comes with a freaky keyboard hook and a video with enough banknotes to give Mervyn King an aneurysm.

Contact Stephanie Duncan-Bosu
stephanie.duncan-bosu@umusic.com


Future Islands

Cave,
4AD

From the just-released The Far Field, Cave somehow manages to be hopeless, life-affirming and danceable all at the same time. Nice one, guys.

Contact Annette Lee
annettelee@4ad.com

Bird
Crazy,
Pop Fiction Records via Absolute

This is a pop song with a melody you can hum and a chorus that makes you think, Remember the Sugababes? They were good, weren’t they?

Contact Guy Lederman
guy@dwl.uk.net

 

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...