The Music Week Playlist: April 3, 2017

The Music Week Playlist: April 3, 2017

Kendrick Lamar
The Heart Part 4,
Polydor

The first proper Kendrick drop in ages, this aggy new single cusses Donald Trump, among others. The countdown to the new album begins...

Contact Stephanie Duncan-Bosu
stephanie.duncan-bosu@umusic.com


Gorillaz (feat Noel Gallagher & Jehnny Beth)
We Got The Power,
Parlophone

A synthy, boisterous collision of Beth’s frenzied delivery, Damon Albarn and none other than Noel Gallagher on backing vocals. Unlikely, but brilliant.

Contact Brídín Murphy Mitchell
bridin@rmplondon.co.uk


Black Lips

Can’t Hold On,
Vice Records

Produced by Sean Lennon and sloppy with saxophone, screech and scuzz, the Atlanta lot’s new single precedes a new LP that features Yoko Ono.

Contact James Parrish
james@prescriptionpr.co.uk


Kevin Morby
Come To Me Now,
Dead Oceans

Lifted from the upcoming City Music, which arrives just 14 months after his last album Singing Saw, K-Mo’s latest is a languid beauty.

Contact Duncan Jordan
duncan@bellaunion.com

All We Are
Burn It All Out,
Domino

The minimalist Liverpool trio return beefed up by bassy electronics that evoke nightclubs and hedonism. An intriguing new direction.

Contact Aoife Kitt
aoife@dominorecordco.com


Perfume Genius

Slip Away,
Matador

This new single from Mike Hadreas is huge. Straddling pop, theatre and high drama, it bodes well for fourth album Slip Away, which is out May 5.

Contact Noam Klar
noam@matadorrecords.com

Sparks
Hippopotamus,
BMG

If you belive these lyrics, Sparks have a hippo in their pool and they don’t know how it got there. Welcome back, you lovely disco oddballs.

Contact Sue Harris
sue@republicmedia.net

 

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...