The Music Week Playlist: August 14 2017

The Music Week Playlist: August 14 2017

Kelela
LMK,
Warp

Count the days until October 6, when Kelela finally releases her debut album. Sleek and unfussy, this intro track is a tantalising hint of what’s to come.

Contact James Cunningham
james.cunningham@purplepr.com

Avelino
Origami,
More Music Records/Odd Child Music

Is there a livelier UK rapper around right now? The Tottenham MC is on fire on this new single, parts of which will delight fans of The Karate Kid...

Contact Alice French
alice@your-army.com

Four Tet
Planet,
Text

Kieran Hebden resurfaces with a vivid new one that pulses for six minutes before a sleepy, 78-second outro. Get ready to pull your best agog face.

Contact Kieran Hebden
fourtet.net

Orlando Weeks
Seasonal Hero,
Seasonal Hero Records

The ex-Maccabee launches his debut novel next month, and worked with Markus Dravs on the soundtrack. This first morsel is rather sad.

Contact Morad Khokar
morad.khokar@warnermusic.com

Ducktails
Map To The Stars,
New Images

Matt Mondanile perfected this upcoming sixth LP in his mum’s basement. Congratulations Mrs M, your son excels at plaintive indie-rock.

Contact Caroline Beashel
caroline@yesplease.fm

Astroid Boys
Dirt,
Music For Nations

The Welsh hip-hop/punk crew offer a gnarly taste of their debut, Broke (out September 29). Cardiff must be a scarier place with them around.

Contact Louise Mayne
louise@wecarealotpr.com

Otherkin
Come On,
Hello, Rubyworks Records

Endorsed by Lars Ulrich and Guns N’ Roses, Otherkin sure seem to be doing alright. This poppy grunge confection is out now.

Contact Ritu Morton
ritu@six07press.co.uk

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...