The Music Week Playlist: August 3, 2018

The Music Week Playlist: August 3, 2018

The 1975
Love It If We Made It (Dirty Hit)

Car sex, heroin, Jesus, Kanye… Matt Healy packs this dark-hued, punishing pop song with a freakish variety of imagery, all adding up to the message that “modernity has failed us”. Happy days.
Contact Susie Ember
susie.ember@umusic.com

Cat Power
Wanderer (Domino)

Barely 90 seconds long, the title-track from Chan Marshall’s self-produced 10th album (due October 5) is at once ghostly and warming.
Contact Aoife Kitt
aoife@dominorecordco.com

Waxahatchee
Chapel of Pines (Merge)

One of six songs reworked at Justin Vernon’s studio for the Great Thunder EP, this is a reminder of Katie Crutchfield’s chilling way with an acoustic.
Contact Alex Cull
alex@braceyourself.com

Day Wave
Still Let You Down (Fiction)

It’s hot, so slump in a dark room and cool off with this slow and dreamy return from Day Wave, who delighted with 2017 debut The Days We Had.
Contact Dan Carson dan@they-do.com

Harlea
Beautiful Mess (Roxy Princess)

The North London newcomer’s first single of 2018 is powered by soul, and it’s an electric ride through the embers of a relationship gone wrong.
Contact Lauren Hales lauren@halestormpr.com

Steve Aoki (feat. Ina Wroldsen)
Lie To Me (Syco)

Plentiful crunch and echo in the shadowy corners of this clubby collaboration make it a refreshing addition to the summer bangers canon.
Contact Ashley Townley ashley.townley@dawbell.com

Buddy (Feat. A$AP Ferg)
Black (Cool Lil Company/Columbia)

A stark example of the Compton rapper’s machine gun delivery, Black sees him celebrate his heritage with help from touring buddy A$AP Ferg.
Contact Taponeswa Mavunga taponeswa.mavunga@sonymusic.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...