The Music Week Playlist: February 6, 2017

The Music Week Playlist: February 6, 2017

Mac DeMarco
My Old Man,
Captured Tracks

Strummed acoustic, rickety melody and a plaintive story whet the appetite for the Canadian’s forthcoming album, This Old Dog. Welcome back, Mac.

Contact Jodie Banaszkiewicz
jodie@staygoldenpr.com

Noga Erez
Pity,
City Slang

Pity finds the Tel Aviv experimentalist defending the victim of a 2015 Israeli sexual assault case via flamboyant pop. This buzzes with intent.
Contact Kate Price
kate@stereosanctity.co.uk

Anohni
Paradise, 
Rough Trade

Twisted electronics and vocals offer up a pulverising taste of the BRIT-nominated singer’s upcoming EP, out March 17.

Contact Jamie Woolgar
jamiewoolgar@roughtraderecords.com

Louis Berry
She Wants Me,
Ministry Of Sound

Here’s some more twanging, jittery country‘n’roll from the rasping Liverpudlian. A future jukebox favourite for pissed up rockers down the pub.

Contact Fred Mellor
fred@mbcpr.com

Missy Elliott (feat. Lamb)
I’m Better,
Atlantic

Missy’s latest dials down the bombast and is in no rush at all, her trademark flow slithers slowly over spare, bassy beats and plinking electronics.
Contact Rachel Campbell
rachel.campbell@atlanticrecords.co.uk

Superfood
Double Dutch,
Dirty Hit

Out today, the Brummies’ first single in two years hints they’ve harnessed groove and soul to tame their shabby-go-lucky Britpop sound.
Contact Thom Denson
thom@braceyourselfpr.com

Cosmo Pyke
Chronic Sunshine,
Unsigned

From the 18-year-old’s upcoming, Fraser T Smith-produced Just Cosmo EP, this summery jam is loosened by reggae, jazz and the stink of weed.
Contact Corrie Parris
corrie@wired-pr.co.uk

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...