The Music Week Playlist: January 15, 2018

The Music Week Playlist: January 15, 2018

Ramz
Barking (Polydor) 

After its video launched on GRM Daily last year, Ramz’s low-slung jam has lodged itself in the singles chart Top 10. A huge start to 2018 for South London’s Ramone Rochester.

Contact Imran Malik
malik@imran-malik.com

Justin Timberlake
Filthy (RCA)

JT is bringing sexy back. The singer’s gyration-ready comeback comes with panting samples, wobbly bass and lyrics about “cages” and “beasts”.

Contact Sarah Hall
sarah.hall@sonymusic.com


Nina Nesbitt
Somebody Special (Cooking Vinyl)

Nesbitt says this groove-heavy new track relays the early days of new love, “drinking cheap cider… or sitting at home in your tracksuit”. Fantastic.

Contact Vicky Dowdall
vicky@vdmmusic.com


Rae Morris
Push Me To My Limit (Atlantic)

February brings Rae Morris’ second LP, Someone Out There. Over three dramatic minutes, this latest drop builds a tension that never quite snaps.

Contact Harriet Brampton
harriet@chalkpressagency.co.uk


Kendrick Lamar (FEAT. SZA)
All The Stars (Aftermath/Interscope)

This first cut from the promising
Kendrick-produced OST for Marvel’s new Black Panther flick is oddly smooth, but what will the rest be like?

Contact Stephanie Duncan-Bosu
stephanie.duncan-bosu@umusic.com


Warmduscher
Big Wilma (The Leaf Label)

Alongside new project Insecure Men, Saul Adamczewski is busy with Warmduscher, too. This is like a slap round the chops with a cheese grater.

Contact Thea Hudson-Davies
thea@theleaflabel.com


Superchunk

Erasure (Merge)

Taken from the North Carolina vets’ 11th album, this ball of fuzz features Waxahatchee’s Katie Crutchfield and The Magnetic Fields’ Stephin Merritt.

Contact Alex Cull
alex@braceyourselfpr.com


subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...