The Music Week Playlist: January 22, 2018

The Music Week Playlist: January 22, 2018

Jorja Smith (feat. Stormzy)
Let Me Down (FAMM)

This three-minute wonder is the best example of Jorja Smith’s vocal talent yet, with dreamy piano chords and a guest verse from Stormzy twinkling away in the background.

Contact Rachel Campbell
rachel@wired-pr.co.uk


Young T & Bugsey
Greenlight (Drilla Records)

Over rolling beats, bass and rave klaxons, the Nottingham rappers do their level best to knot listeners’ minds with their fearsome flow. Out now.

Contact Imran Malik
malik@imran-malik.com


Carrie Underwood
The Champion (Capitol Records Nashville)

Carrie Underwood and Ludacris pack energy and drama into The Champion, which will intro Superbowl LII next month.

Contact Jack Delaney
jack.delaney@outside-org.co.uk


Jack White
Connected By Love (Third Man/XL)

The pale-faced axeman returns in typical searing style. This is from new LP Boarding House Reach, due on March 23.

Contact Jon Wilkinson
jon@technique-pr.com


Lotto Boyzz (feat. Vianni)
Bim Bam (Pitched Up/Sony)

We’re calling it, this is UK rap’s slinkiest song in ages. Rising Croydon talent Vianni adds extra oomph to a brilliant chorus.

Contact Abisola Oke
abisola.oke@sonymusic.com


Craig David (feat. Goldlink)
Live In The Moment (Insanity)

Can Craig David hit No.1 next week with The Time Is Now? The latest taste of a feelgood R&B record suggests there’s every chance he will.

Contact Laura Sinclair
laura.sinclair@dawbell.com


Car Seat Headrest
Nervous Young Inhumans (Matador)

As Will Toledo’s star rises apace, he’s been busy re-recording 2011 Bandcamp LP Twin Fantasy. This is angsty, fidgety and great.

Contact Noam Klar
noam@matadorrecords.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...