The Music Week Playlist: July 17, 2017

The Music Week Playlist: July 17, 2017

Kesha
Praying,
Kemosabe Records/RCA Records

After four years, Praying marks an emotional return for Kesha. This is full of fight and power, expect more on new album Rainbow, due August 11.

Contact Barbara Charone
bc@mbcpr.com

Protomartyr
A Private Understanding,
Domino

These Detroit punks are brilliant at crafting phlegm-flecked noise. This first single from Domino debut Relatives In Descent is a case in point.

Contact Aoife Kitt
aoife@dominorecordco.com


Smerz
Oh My My,
XL Recordings

The Norwegian duo’s first release for XL is a hit. Henriette and Catharina’s vocals form a melodic counterpoint to shifting, unnerving production.

Contact Jon Wilkinson
jon@technique-pr.com


Japanese Breakfast
Road Head,
Dead Oceans

From Michelle Zauner’s new album Soft Sounds From Another Planet (out now), this is a dreamy rework of a song from 2014’s American Sound.

Contact Michelle Kambasha
michelle@secretlygroup.com


Wolf Alice
Don’t Delete The Kisses,
Dirty Hit Records

Roll on that second album, think Wolf Alice fans across the land, as they bask in the glow of this lusty, awkward and spookily relatable loved-up lament.

Contact Adrian Read
adrian@insideslashout.com


Anna Of The North

Lovers,
Different Recordings

The Norwegian-New Zealand duo of Anna Lotterud and Brady Daniell-Smith gear up for their debut (out September 8) with this low-slung, hazy pop jam.

Contact Paddy Davis
paddy.davis@pias.com

Rhye
Please,

Loma Vista Recordings

Well, what have the LA-based duo been doing for four years? Making as much come-to-bed R&B as they possibly can, of course!

Contact Louisa Worskett
louisa.worskett@caroline.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...