The Music Week Playlist (June 5, 2019)

The Music Week Playlist (June 5, 2019)

Music Week's guide to the most essential tracks of the moment.

DIPLO (FEAT. OCTAVIAN)
New Shapes (Mad Decent)

Boasting suave, smokey vocals from the Anglo-French rapper, Diplo serves up a restrained morning after meditation as he showcases a different side from his recent, six-track Europa EP.

Contact James Cunningham
james.cunningham@s-414.com

 

EMELI SANDÉ
Extraordinary Being (Virgin EMI)

Emeli Sandé's song for the new X-Men movie is a swirl of dangerous strings and big vocals. A timely reminder for a certain spy franchise working on its 25th film...

Contact Janet Choudhury
Janet.Choudhury@umusic.com

 

DON BROCO
Half Man Half God (SharpTone Records)

Bulldozer rock and urgent electronics combine on this sledgehammer of a track heralding the band’s live dates. Moshpits, consider yourselves primed.

Contact William Luff
william.luff@wilfulpublicity.co.uk

 

DOOBIE FONTAINE
Never Fall In Love (Lucky Last Records)

A ghostly fairground carousel of a love song, this haunting track from the quartet is spooky yet beautiful in a way David Lynch would approve of.

Contact Ash Collins
ash@drystonepress.co.uk

 

LISS
Talk To Me (Real Life)

Lead track from the Danish Second EP (following 2016’s First), this is a heady mix of smart beats, lush melodies and frontman Søren Holm’s unique vocals.

Contact Jon Wilkinson
jon@technique-pr.com

 

ADAM GREEN
Freeze My Love (30th Century Records)

Having bossed the anti-folk scene as Moldy Peaches, Adam Green returns from recent film endeavours with this beautiful, swooning solo heart-stopper.

Contact Ben Ayres
benayres@roughtraderecords.com

 

FLYINGLOTUS(FEAT. LITTLEDRAGON)
Spontaneous (Warp Records)

This choice cut from Steven Ellison's critically lauded Flamagra album, finds Yukimi Nagano and co luxuriating in funky synths and brushed beats.

Contact Adrian Read
adrian@insideslashout.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...