The Music Week Playlist: March 13, 2017

The Music Week Playlist: March 13, 2017

Lorde
Green Light,
Virgin EMI

Its opening 80 seconds of keys and breathy vocals mean Lorde’s comeback boasts 2017’s cleverest pop intro so far. Good chorus, too.

Contact Louise Mayne
louise@wecarealotpr.com

Alt-J
3WW,
Infectious Music

It’s another spidery, intense and really rather odd song from the triangle lovers. The best bits are the noisiest. New album Relaxer follows in June.

Contact Adrian Read
adrian@insideslashout.com

Alex G
Bobby,
Domino

Collaborating with Frank Ocean has made this Philly indie kid famous, and rightly so. Bobby, like his huge, self-released back catalogue, is awesome.
Contact Sam Williams
sam@dominorecordco.com

Girlpool
123,
Anti-

From upcoming second album Powerplant, 123 has the LA duo sounding more refined than before. It’s still loud, but not quite as messy.

Contact Keong Woo
keong.woo@goodmachinepr.com

Disciples
On My Mind,
FFRR

It’s a more subtle hit of dancefloor goodness than we’re used to from them, but the Londoners’ latest benefits from its chilled disposition.

Contact Paul Guimaraes
paul.guimaraes@parlophonemusic.com


Ulrika Spacek

Mimi Pretend,
Tough Love Records

The London five-piece tease second record Modern English Decoration (out June 2) with a hypnotic wash of noise and melody.
Contact Frankie Davison
frankie@stereosanctity.co.uk

Gangly
Whole Again,
AMF Records

Björk digs this new Icelandic trio, and if this vast, deep and brilliantly slow new single is any kind of yardstick, you will too.
Contact Seb Burford
seb@worldwidefriendlysociety.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...