The Music Week Playlist: March 6, 2019

The Music Week Playlist: March 6, 2019

Music Week's guide to the most essential tracks of the moment.

JADE BIRD
I Get No Joy (Glassnote Music)

Jade Bird’s self-titled debut album will be here next month, and the former BRIT School student drops this huge, soulful single to tide us over in the meantime. It’s pretty mega.

Contact Ruth Drake
ruth@toastpress.com

 

DAVE
Black (Neighbourhood)

Dave’s debut album Psychodrama is coming this week (March 8) and he follows No.1 Funky Friday with this crackling exploration of his identity.

Contact James Cunningham
james.cunningham@s-414.com

 

GIGGS
Baby (No BS/Island)

Giggs’ new LP Big Bad is enjoyably murky, but he sounds like he’s about to laugh here, on a bassy highlight from a record with many layers.

Contact Ben Harris
ben@runmusic.co.uk

 

KH
Only Human (Ministry Of Sound)

Kieran Hebden dusts off his KH alias to release Only Human, which takes a sample from Nelly Furtado’s Afraid and warps it with concrete-heavy techno.

Contact Emily Gale
emily@triplethreatmgmt.com

 

SHY FX (FEAT. SWEETIE IRIE & CARA DELEVINGNE)
(Culutre)

The legendary Shy FX teams up with fellow UK OG Sweetie Irie and Cara Delevingne on a track that wanders in unexpected directions.

Contact Kate Head
kate@stokedpr.com

 

BLACK FUTURES (FEAT. BOBBY GILLESPIE)
Me TV (Music For Nations)

This big slab of noise comes with a charitable message, as the Londoners recruit Bobby Gillespie to emphasise the line, “Turn up for your community”.

Contact Chris Dean
chris.dean@wilfulpublicity.co.uk

 

BIG THIEF
UFOF (4AD)

Big Thief’s first release for 4AD is a pleasing folk confection that sounds like it was recorded in the countryside (it was). The album drops May 3.

Contact Annette Lee
annettelee@4ad.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...