The Music Week Playlist: May 1, 2017

The Music Week Playlist: May 1, 2017

Sigrid
Plot Twist,
Island Records

It’s another skittish hunk of pop from the 20-year-old Norwegian singer. Plot Twist is perfect for running around in circles in a large field.

Contact Elspeth Merry
elspeth.merry@umusic.com

Dua Lipa (feat. Miguel)
Lost In Your Light,
Warner Bros.

This single shows a more restrained side to Dua Lipa, and after hearing Scared To Be Lonely 12,019,181 times on the radio, that’s good news.
Contact Chris Slade
chris.slade@purplepr.com

Ghostpoet
Immigrant Boogie,
PIAS

Obaro Ejimiwe’s first new music since 2015’s Shedding Skin is a first-person account of border-crossing set to restless guitars and uneasy percussion.
Contact Paddy Davis
Paddy.Davis@pias.com

Lana Del Rey (feat. The Weeknd)
Lust For Life,
Polydor

There’s a positive, empowering message lurking in the suggestive murk here, Lana and Abel sound very much full of the joys of spring.
Contact Chris Slade
chris.slade@purplepr.com

The War On Drugs
Thinking Of A Place,
Atlantic Records

Eleven blurry minutes that prove Adam Granduciel’s move to a major hasn’t dampened his passion for hazy, seemingly endless Americana songs.
Contact Duncan Jordan
duncan@bellaunion.com

Paramore
Hard Times,
Fueled By Ramen

Paramore’s message is still emo, but they’ve booted rock to the kerb in favour of zany pop. There’s even a mad Daft Punk bit at the end.
Contact Nienke Klop
nienke.klop@all-press.co.uk

Pond
Paint Me Silver,
Marathon Artists

From new album The Weather, out this week, this finds Pond easing off the throttle and embracing groove, synthesisers and falsetto.
Contact Joe Parry
joe@insideslashout.com

 

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...