The Music Week Playlist: May 14, 2018

The Music Week Playlist: May 14, 2018

Jessie Reyez
Body Count (Polydor)

Here’s something smoky and minimal from Jessie Reyez, who juxtaposes a sweet melody with her signature lyrical power and edge: “We gon’ love who we wanna love”.

Contact Susie Ember
susie.ember@umusic.com


Skepta

Pure Water (Boy Better Know)

With another Nike trainer collab about to drop and BBK’s new song Athlete making waves, Skepta ups the ante with verses about Mars and gingerbread men.

Contact Jon Wilkinson
jon@technique-pr.com


Drenge
This Dance (Infectious Music)

The Loveless bros return with what they’re describing as a “dance number”. Suffice to say, it adds a freaky electronic layer to their gutsy rock’n’roll.

Contact Dan Carson
dan@insideslashout.com


LSD
Genius (Syco)

LSD equals Labrinth, Sia and Diplo. The first fruit of their three-way partnership is a futuristic electro-ballad, possibly about a really clever person.

Contact Sundraj Sreenivasan
sundraj@supersonicpr.com


Amber Mark
Conexão EP (PMR/Virgin EMI)

A signal of intent from one of 2018’s brightest new stars, this four-track EP sees Amber Mark bend R&B and soul in diverting new directions.

Contact Nic Bestley
nic.bestley@s-414.com


Protomartyr (feat. Kelley Deal)
Wheel Of Fortune (Domino)

The Breeders’ Kelley Deal features on two tracks on Proto’s new Consolation EP (out June 15). This little snarler will leave you bruised and bloodied.

Contact Aoife Kitt
aoife@dominorecordco.com

Slowthai
Ladies (Method Records)

To search for an angrier, more vital talent in UK rap than Slowthai would be to waste your time. Heavy as it is, Ladies weaves in a shout out for Lambrini.

Contact Annabel Crowhurst
annabel@toastpress.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...