The Music Week Playlist: May 15, 2017

The Music Week Playlist: May 15, 2017

LCD Soundsystem

Call The Police/American Dream,
Columbia

A double A-side to show James Murphy has lost none of his grouchy sharpness, and his band none of their heart-swelling power.

Contact Jon Wilkinson
jon@technique-pr.com


Lil Yachty
Bring It Back,
Quality Control/Motown/Capitol

This video finds Lil Yachty donning a debonair green get-up every bit as fetching as his housey trap. The album, Teenage Emotions, is out May 26.

Contact Imran Malik
malik@imran-malik.com

Haim
Want You Back,
Polydor

Like a fresh batch of Apprentice contestants, this is sleek, flash and ambitious. Haim look equipped to take on the charts with quite some armoury.

Contact Ruth Drake
ruth@toastpress.com


Japanese Breakfast
Machinist,
Dead Oceans

Michelle Zauner goes stratospheric with a space-age comeback. Second album Soft Sounds From Another Planet, out July 14, will be cosmic.

Contact Michelle Kambasha
michelle@secretlygroup.com

 
Milk Teeth
Owning Your Okayness,
Roadrunner Records

The Gloucestershire rabble celebrate signing to Roadrunner with this, which is snottier (and catchier) than a
week-old hanky.

Contact Phoebe Sinclair

Kate Nash
Agenda,
Girl Gang

In 2007, Kate Nash released Made Of Bricks. Now, having crowdfunded her fourth LP, she’s back doing barbed bubblegum bangers like this one.

Contact Sinead Mills
sinead@practisemusic.co.uk


Ho99o9

War Is Hell,
Toys Have Powers

There’s nothing better than a song that makes it feel like there’s a fire blazing in your brain. Proper earache stuff from the New Jersey duo.

Contact Sarah Maynard
maynard@majortransmission.com

 

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...