The Music Week Playlist: May 8, 2017

The Music Week Playlist: May 8, 2017

Lady Leshurr
Mode EP,
RCA Records

The Birmingham MC stuffs six songs into 19 minutes of bass, bounce and balls. This new EP bangs, and that’s all there is to say.
Contact Ash Collins
ash.collins@sonymusic.com

Haim
Right Now,
Polydor

The Haim sisters return, but what have they brought with them? A patient, mini-epic that builds to a potty percussive conclusion, that’s what.
Contact Ruth Drake
ruth@toastpress.com

The Japanese House
Saw You In A Dream,
Dirty Hit

“All good things come to an end”, sings Amber Bain, delivering a true but frustrating message on a song that envelops like a massive 13 tog duvet.
Contact Elliot Mitchell
elliot@braceyourselfpr.com


Childhood

Let this zinger from the London indie cheurbs restore your faith in guitars, melody and wistful lyrics. From new record Universal High, out in July.
Contact Jamie Woolgar
jamiewoolgar@roughtraderecords.com

Ride
All I Want,
Wichita Recordings

This new Ride song is remarkable for its pneumatic drumming, tidal waves of guitar and boyish vocals. Be glad they’re back.
Contact James Windle
james.windle@dawbell.com

Odesza (feat. Wynne & Mansionair)
Line Of Sight,
Counter Records

Ever found yourself wondering what would happen if Bastille got cooler? Us neither, but this widescreen pop song is worth a listen all the same.
Contact Sinead Mills
sinead@practisemusic.co.uk

Shabazz Palaces (feat. Thaddilac)
Shine A Light,
Sub Pop

A trippy, piecemeal introduction to Quazarz, the fictional rap alien the Seattle hip-hop duo have based their new album on. As weird as it sounds.
Contact Ben Harris
ben@runmusic.co.uk

 

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...