The Music Week Playlist: October 9, 2017

The Music Week Playlist: October 9, 2017

Stormzy
4PM In London (#Merky)

“Fuck that, I’ll drop another banger/Get another plaque”. Clearly, Stormzy is still on his hot streak. Spitting over the beat from Drake’s 4pm In Calabasas, he nods to J Hus and hints about his new record.

Contact Rachel Campbell
rachel@wired-pr.co.uk

Smerz
No Harm (XL Recordings)

Muffled beats and slippery electronics characterise another hot new one from Norwegian duo Henriette Motzfeldt and Catharina Stoltenberg.

Contact Leah Wilson
leahwilson@xlrecordings.com

First Aid Kit
It’s A Shame (Columbia Records)

First Aid Kit return with the message that there’s no point in moaning about the past. Set to a sweet melody, it’s enough to elicit a smile.

Contact Frazer Lawton
frazer.lawton@sonymusic.com

Yellow Days
I Believe In Love (Good Years)


George Van Den Broek releases Is Everything OK In Your World on October 27, this is a waltzing example of his skewed songcraft.

Contact Jon Lawrence
jon@chalkpressagency.co.uk

 

Disciples
Jealousy (FFRR)


Fans of Jimmy Choos will be pleased with Disciples’ lyrical reference here, while those partial to bassy dance drops will dig the chorus. 

Contact Matt Oliver
moliver@infamouspr.com

 

Shed Seven
Room In My House (BMG)

It’s like they’ve never been away. The Sheds return with a swagger, and a heavy, guitar-driven taster from upcoming LP Instant Pleasures.

Contact Emily Cooper
emily@everythingcountspr.com

J Balvin & Willy William (feat. Beyoncé)
Mi Gente (Universal Latin)

Never mind whether Beyoncé’s
part on this remix will have a Bieber/Despacito effect, just listen to her Spanish rapping. This is awesome.

Contact: Stephanie Duncan-Bosu
stephanie.duncan-bosu@umusic.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...