The Music Week Playlist: Thursday, 25 April

The Music Week Playlist: Thursday, 25 April

Music Week's guide to the most essential tracks of the moment.

J HUS
Daily Duppy (Black Butter)

J Hus’ first new music since leaving prison is a GRM Daily rap that finds him wrestling with his “black heart”. The booming flow remains, but this is Hus as you’ve never heard him before.

Contact Imran Malik
malik@imran-malik.com

 

BTS
Home (Bighit Entertainment)

Continuing their quest to redefine the meaning of the word ‘massive’, BTS offer a hint of reflection behind the slickness and bombast on this album cut.

Contact Ashley Townley
ashley.townley@dawbell.com

 

LIL NAS X
Old Town Road (Columbia)

Having conquered the charts in America, Lil Nas X is coming for the UK with this unstoppable mix of rap and country. But will he be massive?

Contact Parris O’Loughlin-Hoste
parris.oh@sonymusic.com

 

TAME IMPALA
Borderline (Fiction)

Kevin Parker pulls off a neat trick with Borderline, dunking a lonely indie song in fizzing disco goo so it mutates into something spectacular.

Contact Duncan Jordan
duncan@bellaunion.com

 

MIQUELA
Right Back (Brud Records)

Miquela’s delivery floats through crumbling beats on Right Back, which cements the Los Angeles-based artist as one to watch in the coming months.

Contact Anna Meacham
anna@huxley.world

 

BECK (FEAT. PHARRELL WILLIAMS)
Saw Lightning (Capitol)

The first offering from Beck’s Hyperspace LP is less pop single more sonic jamboree, with futuristic bass, harmonica and skewed choruses.

Contact James Windle
james.windle@dawbell.com

 

CHARLOTTE
Nervous (The Orchard)

Hull newcomer Charlotte’s vocals are full of soul and pop magic on a highlight from her Nowhere To Hide EP (May 3). The chorus is ginormous.

Contact Kat Bawden
kat@dedikatedpr.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...