The Music Week Playlist: Wednesday, May 15

The Music Week Playlist: Wednesday, May 15

Music Week's guide to the most essential tracks of the moment.

L DEVINE
Naked Alone (Warner Bros)

When it comes to modern pop, L Devine really knows her stuff , as this new single illustrates. Insistent, candid and radiating brightness, it’s the Newcastle singer’s best yet.

Contact Phoebe Sinclair
Phoebe.Sinclair@warnermusic.com

 

NOEL GALLAGHER’S HIGH FLYING BIRDS
Black Star Dancing (Sour Mash Records)

Noel Gallagher continues to explore a shimmering pop sound on a new track that sent Nile Rodgers bopping around a studio when he heard it. Whatever next?

Contact Sarah Henderson
sarah@murraychalmers.com

 

MADONNA
I Rise (Interscope)

The second morsel from Madonna’s Madame X album punctuates a simple, empowering message with minimal production and spacey touches.

Contact Barbara Charone
bc@mbcpr.com

 

SLOWTHAI
Nothing Great About Britain (Method)

Slowthai’s debut is out this week, and the video for its hard-nosed title track casts the Northampton rapper as the heir to the Queen. A brilliant mess.

Contact Annabel Crowhurst
annabel@toastpress.com

 

SURFBORT
Hi Anxiety (Cult/Fat Possum Records)

Brooklyn punk foursome Surfbort are here to rip 2019 a new one via ear-shredding choruses such as that found on this three-minute melee.

Contact James Sherry
james@divisionpromotions.com

 

MOSTACK
Wild (MizerMillion Entertainment/Virgin EMI)

Having gatecrashed the Top 10 via a spot on Steel Banglez’s Fashion Week, Mostack is at his larger-than-life best here. Expect his debut album soon.

Contact Aarti Popat
aarti@imran-malik.com

 

CAT POWER
Horizon (Domino)

The dreamy video for this highlight from last year’s Wanderer album is a timely reminder of Cat Power’s majesty ahead of UK festival dates this summer.

Contact Aoife Kitt
aoife@dominorecordco.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...