The Music Week Playlist: May 22, 2017

The Music Week Playlist: May 22, 2017

Sheer Mag
Just Can’t Get Enough,
Static Shock Records


Resistance is futile; this is the song of 2017 so far and its juicy punk chorus is a monster. Debut LP Need To Feel Your Love (finally) drops in July.

Contact Liv Willars
liv@onebeatpr.com

Miley Cyrus
Malibu,
RCA

Here’s Miley ‘new/old leaf’ Cyrus, taking a wrecking ball to all that perma-stoned danger with some inoffensive, smiley pop.

Contact Sarah Hall
sarah.hall@sonymusic.com


The National
The System Only Dreams In Total Darkness,
4AD

The National return with a song that’ll lodge between your teeth like a rare, sinewy steak. From the album Sleep Well Beast, out September 8.

Contact Annette Lee
annettelee@4ad.com

Lana Del Rey
Coachella - Woodstock In My Mind,
Polydor

LDR frames a song that asks searching questions about the world in the pretty, shallowness of the Cali festival that always looks good in photos.

Contact Carl Fysh
carl.fysh@purplepr.com


Mount Kimbie (feat. Micachu)
Marilyn,
Warp

After winning an Oscar for her Jackie score, Mica Levi pops up on this loose-limbed, dreamy new one from the melodic-tech heads.

Contact Adrian Read
adrian@insideslashout.com


Phoebe Green
Saggitarius,
Label

The Manchester singer delivers a takedown to a “scared little boy” who’s about to get his comeuppance. From her self-released debut, 02:00AM.

Contact Sinead Mills
sinead@practisemusic.co.uk


Vera
In And Out Of Love,
VeraLovesUUU Records

Not content with producing and co-writing for hot Danish acts Liss and Goss, Vera turns up with something smooth, brassy and futuristic.

Contact Jon Lawrence
jon@chalkpressagency.co.uk

 

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...