The Music Week Playlist: September 4, 2019

The 1975

This week's hottest new sounds...

THE 1975
People (Dirty Hit)

The 1975 are basking in the glow of their Reading & Leeds headline slots, where the gnarl and hiss of new single People proved a resounding highlight. Where are they going next, though?

Contact Susie Ember
susie.ember@umusic.com

MS BANKS (FEAT. GEKO)
Back It Up (Ms Banks)

Ms Banks follows her thumping single Snack with something altogether more relaxed. Her vocals are tinged with R&B, while Geko’s vocals add extra melody.

Contact Emily Cooper
emily@everythingcountspr.com

5 SECONDS OF SUMMER
Teeth (Polydor)

Hands up if you predicted 5SOS going industrial? Ok, so they’re some way off Swans, but this features searing guitar from none other than Tom Morello.

Contact Dave Palmer
dave.palmer@dawbell.com

JAMES BLUNT
Cold (Atlantic)

“I don’t want to let go of the things that keep me warm,” sings Mr Blunt on this blustery return, which builds from strummed verses into an all-out epic.

Contact Barbara Charone
bc@mbcpr.com

LANA DEL REY
Fuck It I Love You (Polydor)

What a title. And, frankly, what a song. Sad and wonderfully glacial, this track dropped alongside the equally excellent The Greatest. Lana is back.

Contact Carl Fysh
carl.fysh@s-414.com

PUSHA T (FEAT. KASH DOLL)
Sociopath (Getting Out Our Dreams Inc/Def Jam)

Pusha T resurfaces after Daytona with Sociopath, a bassy, Kanye-produced wonder with a fantastic segment that explores “charcuterie”.

Contact James Cunningham
james.cunningham@s-414.com

KIM GORDON
Sketch Artist (Matador)

The Sonic Youth legend tees up her first solo album with this freakish, stop-start single powered by white noise that cuts like a kitchen knife.

Contact Noam Klar
noam@matadorrecords.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...