Duran Duran, Jess Glynne and MNEK honoured at 2016 ASCAP Awards

Duran Duran, Jess Glynne and MNEK honoured at 2016 ASCAP Awards

The annual ASCAP (American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers) Awards took place at London’s One Embankment last night, with Duran Duran, Jess Glynne and MNEK among the big winners.

The coveted Golden Note Award songwriters, composers and artists who have achieved extraordinary career milestones, was presented to multi-platinum pop legends Duran Duran. Presenting the award, ASCAP president Paul Williams acknowledged that “in addition to their brilliant songwriting, Duran Duran have continued to innovate across the board”. The award was collected by Simon Le Bon, Nick Rhodes and Roger Taylor.

Two Vanguard Awards were presented to Jess Glynne and MNEK. The award recognises the impact of ‘outstanding ASCAP members on musical genres that will help shape the future of music’. ASCAP CEO, Elizabeth Matthews said: “A Vanguard is at the forefront of musical innovation – dynamic and unafraid to embrace the risk and vulnerability implicit in songwriting.”

Glynne also scooped the award for EDM Song. Her debut solo single Hold My Hand opened at No.1 on the singles chart and held the position for three consecutive weeks. It also became her first solo chart entry on the US Billboard Hot 100.

Another double award recipient was singer and songwriter Amy Wadge. Both awards — one for Song of the Year and another for Top Digital Song — were in recognition of her global hit and Grammy Award-winning song Thinking Out Loud, co-written and performed by long-time collaborator Ed Sheeran.

The full list of ASCAP Awards 2016 winners this year is as follows:

·         ASCAP Golden Note Award – Duran Duran

·         ASCAP Vanguard Award – Jess Glynne

·         ASCAP Vanguard Award – MNEK

·         ASCAP Global Impact Award – Anthony Hannides, Michael Hannides, Levi Lennox, Joe Garrett (‘Pillowtalk’ by Zayn Malik)

·         ASCAP Song of the Year – Amy Wadge (‘Thinking Out Loud’ by Ed Sheeran)

·         ASCAP Top Digital Song – Amy Wadge (‘Thinking Out Loud’ by Ed Sheeran)

·         ASCAP Top EDM Song – James Newman (‘Blame’ by Calvin Harris ft. John Newman)

·         ASCAP Film Score of the Year – Patrick Doyle (Cinderella)

·         ASCAP EDM Song Award – Jess Glynne (‘Hold My Hand’)

·         ASCAP Hot 100 Winning Songs

o   Thomas William Raybould (‘The Hills’ by The Weeknd)

o   Lloyd Oliver Wills, Everton Bonner (‘Post To Be’ by Omarion ft. Chris Brown & Jhene Aiko)

o   Sir Paul McCartney (‘FourFiveSeconds’ by Rihanna, Kanye West & Paul McCartney)

o   Joel Pott (‘Budapest’ by George Ezra)

o   Ella Henderson (‘Ghost’ by Ella Henderson)

·         ASCAP EDM Winning Songs

o   Chris Martin, Guy Berryman, Jonny Buckland, Will Champion (‘A Sky Full of Stars’ by Coldplay)

o   Olly Alexander, Mikey Goldsworthy, Emre Turkmen (‘King’ by Years And Years)

o   Marli Harwood (‘Stole The Show’ by Kygo ft. Parson James)

o   Philip Bentley (‘Secrets’ by Tiësto & KSHMR ft. Vassy)

·         ASCAP Top Film Music Awards

o   Lorne Balfe (‘Home’ (2015), ‘Terminator Genisys’)

o   Daniel Pemberton (‘The Man From U.N.C.L.E’)

o   Martin Phipps (‘Woman In Gold’)

o   Ben Salisbury, Geoff Barrow (‘Ex Machina’)

·         ASCAP Top Television Series Awards

o   Julian Gingell, Barry Stone (‘American Idol’ (Fox))

o   Daniel McGrath, Josh Phillips (‘Dancing With The Stars’ (ABC))

o   John Lunn (‘Downtown Abbey’ (PBS))

For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...