Gorillaz announce new album Humanz

Gorillaz announce new album Humanz

Damon Albarn’s virtual band Gorillaz are back with a brand new album entitled Humanz, set for release on April 28 via Parlophone.

Produced by Gorillaz, The Twilight Tone of D /\ P and Remi Kabaka and recorded in London, Paris, New York, Chicago and Jamaica, Humanz is the band’s first new album in seven years.

As ever, Gorillaz will be backed by a star-studded line-up of featured artists on Humanz, including Jehnny Beth (Savages), Danny Brown, Benjamin Clementine, De La Soul, D.R.A.M., Peven Everett, Anthony Hamilton, Grace Jones, Zebra Katz, Kelela, Mavis Staples, Vince Staples, Popcaan, Pusha T, Jamie Principle and Kali Uchis among others.

The 14-track album is available on standard CD, vinyl and as a digital download, as well as a 19-track 2-CD Deluxe. A limited edition Super Deluxe Vinyl Box Set featuring additional alternative versions of all 14 album tracks will also be available.

Gorillaz will play the complete album live for fans for the first time at a secret London location tomorrow (Friday, March 24). Ticket information can be found here.

A six-minute Jamie Hewlett-directed animated film, featuring four tracks from the new album, is now available to watch below. Named Saturnz Barz (Spirit House), the video is available on YouTube, although VR and interactive VR versions will be released next month.

Earlier this month it was revealed that Gorillaz would make their long-awaited live comeback at Demon Dayz, a new one-day festival curated by the band’s Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett. Set to take place at Dreamland amusement park in Margate on June 10, the festival will feature Gorillaz in the headline slot, their first UK show since 2010’s Plastic Beach tour. Spread across three stages, the rest of the line-up is yet to be announced. The event is presented by AEG Presents and Goldenvoice and will be broadcast exclusively on Red Bull TV.

The full track listing for Humanz is:

1.Ascension feat. Vince Staples

2.Strobelite feat. Peven Everett

3.Saturnz Barz feat. Popcaan

4.Momentz feat. De La Soul

5.Submission feat. Danny Brown & Kelela

6.Charger feat. Grace Jones

7.Andromeda feat. D.R.A.M.

8.Busted and Blue

9.Carnival feat. Anthony Hamilton

10.Let Me Out feat. Mavis Staples & Pusha T

11.Sex Murder Party feat. Jamie Principle & Zebra Katz

12.She’s My Collar feat. Kali Uchis

13.Hallelujah Money feat. Benjamin Clementine

14. We Got The Power feat. Jehnny Beth


Bonus material on Deluxe:

15.The Apprentice feat. Rag’n’ Bone Man, Zebra Katz & RAY BLK

16.Halfway To The Halfway House feat. Peven Everett

17.Out Of Body feat. Kilo Kish, Zebra Katz & Imani Vonshà

18.Ticker Tape feat. Carly Simon & Kali Uchis

19.Circle Of Friendz feat. Brandon Markell Holmes

For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...