ACTA agreement rejected by EU Parliament's Civil Liberties Committee

ACTA agreement rejected by EU Parliament's Civil Liberties Committee

The international anti-piracy agreement was signed by the European Commission and 22 EU member states in January but many countries backpedaled on their decision to sign following widespread protests that followed.

The agreement can only enter into force if ratified by six of the 11 signatory states; The European Union, Australia, Canada, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, Morocco, New Zealand, Singapore, the US and Switzerland. It can only become EU law if approved by the European Parliament.

The Civil Liberties Committee voted against ACTA, which aims to enforce intellectual property rights, alongside the Legal and Industry committees.

According to those who voted against the deal, ACTA does not ensure full respect for private life or full protection of sensitive information.

The Civil Liberties Committee said that internet providers should not police the internet while the Industry Committee said that ACTA fails to balance intellectual property rights, business freedom, protection of personal data and the freedom to receive or provide information.

The International Trade Committee is due to adopt its position on June 21 with the agreement scheduled to be put to a vote by the whole Parliament on July 3.

The European Commission - responsible for negotiating the agreement on behalf of the EU - has asked the European Court of Justice for its opinion and urged the Parliament to wait for a ruling.

Source: Techworld.com


Tags: This article has no tags

Not a subscriber?

 Sign up today, registration is easy!