AIM Awards 2012 - all the winners

Tom Pakinkis
AIM Awards 2012

The winners of the AIM Independent Music Awards 2012 have been revealed with The Prodigy, Alt-J, Adele and Bella Union’s Simon Raymonde all picking up prizes.

The Prodigy came up trumps to take the award for the Best Live Act, while relative newcomers Alt-J were named Independent Breakthrough Of The Year and Enter Shikari won Independent Album Of The Year for A Flash Flood Of Colour.

Adele was named the Most Played Independent Act, to little surprise, while Bella Union’s Simon Raymonde took the Independent Entrepreneur Of The Year award and IME Music’s Ian Evans was named Indie Champion.

The full list of AIM Award winners for 2012 is as follows:

Best Live Act (voted for by visitors to the-fly.co.uk): The Prodigy

Independent Breakthrough Of The Year (in association with 7Digital): Alt - J

Hardest Working Band Or Artist: 65daysofstatic

Best Difficult Second Album: First Aid Kit – The Lion's Roar

Independent Album Of The Year (In association with Bird & Bird): Enter Shikari – A Flash Flood Of Colour

Best Small Label (in association with Sound Performance): Black Butter Records

Genre Spotlight Award: Wiley – Evolve Or Be Extinct

Independent Entrepreneur Of The Year (in association with The Orchard): Simon Raymonde - Bella Union

PPL Award For Most Played Independent Act: Adele

Special Catalogue Release Of The Year: The 13th Floor Elevators – Music Of The Spheres

Independent Label Of The Year (in association with EDC): 4AD

Indie Champion Award: Ian Evans - IME Music

Best Independent Festival (voted for by visitors to thisisfakediy.com): LeeFest

Outstanding Contribution to Music (in association with eMusic): Edwyn Collins

Pioneer Award (in association with Nokia Music): Daniel Miller, Mute

AIM would like to thank its sponsors and partners for their continued support: The Fly, This is Fake DIY, Sound Performance, PPL, Nokia Music, The Orchard, 7Digital, Music Week, Bird & Bird, Jack Daniel’s, Atticus Beer, EDC and eMusic.


Tags: AIM, AIM Independent Music Awards 2012, independent music sector, indies, AIM Awards

Not a subscriber?

 Sign up today, registration is easy!