The Music Week Playlist: April 8, 2019

The Music Week Playlist: April 8, 2019

The hottest new tracks, every Monday...

SKY FERREIRA
Downhill Lullaby (Capitol)
Sky Ferreira resurfaces with six minutes of foggy blackness. Strings, atonal guitar and vocals form an intriguing swirl. Six years after Night Time, My Time, new LP Masochism is coming, finally.
Contact Keong Woo
keong.woo@goodmachinepr.com

BLACK MIDI
Crow’s Perch (Rough Trade)
More mazy eccentricity from Black Midi, their first single for new label Rough Trade would be impenetrable were it not for the regular shards of brilliant light.
Contact Jamie Woolgar/Ben Ayres
jamiewoolgar/benayres@roughtraderecords.com

HOT CHIP
Hungry Child (Domino)
Hot Chip return with this gentle floorfiller to tee up new record A Bath Full Of Ecstasy. Now there’s a hedonistic album title!
Contact Aoife Kitt
aoife@dominorecordco.com

GLOWIE
Cruel (Columbia)
Written by Ariana Grande collaborator Tayla Parx, this gloopy pop song finds Icelandic singer Glowie shooting down bullies in style.
Contact Frazer Lawton
frazer.lawton@sonymusic.com

AURORA
The Seed (Decca)
On her third LP A Different Kind Of Human (June 7) Aurora addresses ecology with majestic pop. The Seed is an earthy appetiser.
Contact Louisa Worskett
louisaw@wecarealotpr.com

ARIANA GRANDE & VICTORIA MONÉT
Monopoly (Republic)
Perhaps the best thing about Ariana Grande’s new-found appetite for prolific releasing is how much fun she’s having with it. This is another humdinger.
Contact Elspeth Merry
elspeth.merry@umusic.com

TYLA YAWEH
High Right Now (Epic)
A portrait of excess from Post Malone’s buddy Tyla Yaweh. The lyrics are addled (“Flying on a cocaine spaceship”), but the music is crystal clear.
Contact Ash Collins
ash@drystonepress.co.uk 

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...