The Music Week Playlist: August 30, 2018

The Music Week Playlist: August 30, 2018

Music Week’s guide to the most essential tracks of the moment...

SLOWTHAI

Drugdealer (Method)

Slowthai’s new one crams vast amounts of bleakness into three minutes. An urgent beat whips up the drama, while the Northampton MC punches a wall “til my fucking knuckles break”.

Contact Annabel Crowhurst
annabel@toastpress.com

 

TOMBERLIN

Any Other Way (Saddle Creek)

Pillowy acoustic and soft vocals form the backbone of this opener from Louisville singer Sarah Beth Tomberlin’s sublime debut album. Don’t miss it.

Contact James Parrish
james@prescriptionpr.co.uk

 

KURT VILE

Loading Zones (Matador)

Kurt Vile’s comeback lays bare his habit of parking for free in loading bays. Guitar lines twist and undulate and, by the end, it’s a glorious blur.

Contact Noam Klar
noam@matadorrecords.com

 

STEFFLON DON (FEAT.TIGGSDAAUTHOR)

Pretty Girl (54 London)

Taken from the Don’s new Secure mixtape, this low key dancehall number pairs her chewy flow with nonchalant backing from Tiggs Da Author.

Contact Adam Guest
adam.guest@s-414.com

 

ARIANA GRANDE (FEAT.PHARRELL)

Blazed (Republic Records)

A foray towards funk finds Ariana Grande shining. Pharrell Williams adds hitmaking chops, but this snaking melody is all about Ari.

Contact Elspeth Merry
elspeth.merry@umusic.com

 

SWAMP DOGG

Lonely (Joyful Noise)

The 76-year-old bluesman is experimenting again: upcoming LP Love, Loss And Auto-Tune does what it says on the tin, and this is a wicked taster.

Contact Nathan Beazer
nathan@dogdaypress.com

 

HIPPO CAMPUS

Bambi (Transgressive)

These five Minnesotan kids trail second album Bambi with a song perfect for the living room. Listen on the sofa with your feet up, this is loungey.

Contact Harriet Brampton
harriet@chalkpressagency.co.uk

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...