The Music Week Playlist: December 13, 2018

The Music Week Playlist: December 13, 2018

Music Week’s guide to the most essential tracks of the moment…

GRIMES (FEAT. HANA)
We Appreciate Power (4AD)

Claire Boucher’s been quiet since 2015’s Art Angels LP, and this metal-flavoured taste of what’s next is epic. Electronic drums, impish squealing and lots of noise: welcome back to Grimes’ world.

Contact Anna Meacham
anna@huxley.world

 

MARK RONSON (FEAT. MILEY CYRUS)
Nothing Breaks Like A Heart (Columbia)

Mark Ronson and Miley Cyrus team up for a ‘should be massive’ countrified banger with ample roll and twang. The video is brilliant, too.

Contact Barbara Charone
bc@mbcpr.com

 

TS GRAYE
Honestly (Platoon)

The pack of A&Rs tracking Bristol teen TS Graye stands to grow thanks to the heft and crackle of this slow-burn pop confection. One to watch in 2019.

Contact Sarah Richardson
sarah@allstrip.es

 

KOFFEE
Toast (Columbia)

Born in Spanish Town, Jamaica, Mikayla “Koffee” Simpson announces herself with a mega debut single packed with bounce and vitality. As good as toast.

Contact Taponeswa Mavunga
taponeswa.mavunga@sonymusic.com

 

JAX JONES & YEARS & YEARS
Play (Polydor)

Jax Jones hooks up with Years & Years on a wispy house number that’s out in time for your office Christmas party.

Contact Ruth Drake & Ant Giannaccini
ruth@toastpress.com
anthony.giannaccini@dawbell.com

 

CLAY
Orange (Clay)

San Francisco songwriter Clay trails new music in 2019 with a warm and smoky single inspired by Donald Trump. It raises two fingers in his direction well.

Contact Rachel Campbell
rachel@wired-pr.co.uk

 

HO99O9
Internet Thuggin’ (Toys Have Powers/999 Deathkult)

New Jersey noise animals Ho99o9 are taking on the world wide web. New EP Cyber Cop asks all the big questions, including: ‘Is it safe to hate the Internet?’

Contact Sarah Maynard
maynard@majortransmission.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...