The Music Week Playlist: June 10, 2019

The Music Week Playlist: June 10, 2019

Music Week's guide to the most essential tracks of the moment.

LIAM GALLAGHER
Shockwave (Warner Bros)

Presumably, Liam Gallagher intends to ’ave it this summer, and this cocksure, glam-flavoured new single is a suitably brash statement of intent. New album Why Me? Why Not is coming soon.

Contact Andy Prevezer
andy@andyprevezerpr.com

 

BON IVER
Hey, Ma (Jagjaguwar)

Justin Vernon made a splash with 2016’s 22 A Million, and this is one of two tracks that signal his reemergence. It’s a pleasant wash of synth, sax and vocals.

Contact Nathan Beazer
nathan@dogdaypress.com

 

KATY PERRY
Never Really Over (Virgin EMI)

Katy Perry is back with big drops, staccato verses and a big dose of cloud-bursting pop. It ain’t over by any stretch.

Contact Janet Choudhury
janet.choudhury@umusic.com

 

SKEPTA (FEAT. J HUS)
What Do You Mean? (Boy Better Know)

Low key strings and smooth flows combine on this new album cut, which boasts some imperious verses from a suitably stoic Hus.

Contact Jon Wilkinson
jon@technique-pr.com

 

ROSALÍA
Aute Cuture (Columbia)

Having dominated global charts already this year, the flamenco star looks set to do it again with some sharp vocals and hypnotic, augmented brass.

Contact Abisola Oke
abisola.oke@sonymusic.com

 

ALFIE TEMPLEMAN
Sunday Morning Cereal (Chess Club)

Video game synths and crunchy clicks drive this sun-blessed debut from the precocious Bedfordshire songwriter. The titular EP is out on June 21.

Contact Dan Carson
dan@they-do.com

 

GIRL BAND
Shoulderblades (Rough Trade)

Nearly four years after their debut, the Dublin crew return with epic noise, beastly riffs and no little shouting. This is beautifully unsettling listening.

Contact Jamie Woolgar
jamiewoolgar@roughtraderecords.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...