The Music Week Playlist: May 30, 2019

LANA DEL REY

Music Week's guide to the most essential tracks of the moment.

LANA DEL REY
Doin’ Time (Polydor)

Let’s check in with Lana Del Rey, who’s lending her spidery, spectral vibes to a cover of Sublime’s Doin’ Time. Equally synonymous with California as the ska legends, she sounds freaky as ever.

Contact Carl Fysh
carl.fysh@s-414.com

KOJEY RADICAL
Can’t Go Back (Asylum)

Restless experimentalist Kojey Radical sounds huge on a soulful beat that heralds the imminent arrival of a new project on Asylum. Watch this space.

Contact Jenna Knight
jenna@jennaknight.co.uk

CHASE & STATUS (FEAT. KABAKA PYRAMID)
Murder Music (Virgin EMI)

As time ticks down towards the release of Chase & Status’ new LP Rtrn II Jungle, they release a muddy jam made in Jamaica with Kabaka Pyramid.

Contact Emily Gale
emily@triplethreatmgmt.com

WILL.I.AM (FEAT. LADY LESHURR, LIONESS & MS BANKS)
Pretty Little Thing (EOne)

On a project organised by the titular fashion retailer, Lady Leshurr, Lioness and Ms Banks gather to trade bars over a moody beat from Will.I.Am.

Contact Remina Nair
remina@tenletter.co.uk

WHENYOUNG
The Others (Virgin EMI)

Whenyoung wrote this after the Grenfell Tower tragedy, and its buzzing chords match its poignant message. Debut LP Reasons To Dream is out now.

Contact Katerina Marka
katerina.marka@umusic.com

THE SLP (FEAT. LITTLE SIMZ)
Favourites (Columbia)

Serge Pizzorno introduces his debut solo album with this new collab with rapper Little Simz. It’s slippery, noisy and, it must be said, pleasingly wonky.

Contact Barbara Charone
bc@mbcpr.com

EGYPTIAN BLUE
Collateral (Yala!)

Guitars sound great when they jitter and shudder, a fact not lost on Brighton group Egyptian Blue. This is the lead track from an EP out in June.

Contact Dan Carson
dan@braceyourselfpr.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...