The Music Week playlist: October 17, 2018

The Music Week playlist: October 17, 2018

Music Week’s guide to the most essential tracks of the moment…

DAVE (FEAT. FREDO)
Funky Friday (Dave/Neighbourhood)

Dave hooks up with Fredo, swapping bars over a dancing electronic pulse and a rumbling low end. The result is ominously good, two new stars going places fast.

Contact Nic Bestley
nic.bestley@s-414.com

 

JONAS BLUE (FEAT. LIAM PAYNE & LENNON STELLA)
Polaroid (Positiva/Virgin EMI)

Polaroid (Positiva/Virgin EMI) Pro floorfiller Jonas Blue preps the world for his debut album with another spritely addition to his dance-pop canon.

Contact Fred Mellor
fred@mbcpr.com

 

WARD THOMAS
Never Know (WTW Music/Sony Music)

Country pop, thunderclap drums and a backwards recording of a growling dog! Ward Thomas flirt with becoming Weird Thomas, and it’s fun.

Contact Barbara Charone
bc@mbcpr.com

 

LOYLE CARNER (FEAT. JORDANRAKEI)
Ottolenghi (AMF)

Loyle Carner returns, spitting rainy day bars over a woozy piano riff on a song inspired by its titular chef’s 2012 recipe collection, Jerusalem.

Contact Sinead Mills
sinead@practisemusic.co.uk

 

SNAPPED ANKLES
Drink & Glide (The Leaf Label)

Keep your ears peeled for the new one from the London-based band, who kick their freaky noise into glorious overdrive here.

Contact Thea Hudson-Davies
thea@theleaflabel.com

 

KWAYE
Paralyzed (Mind Of A Genius/Warner Bros)

Those with loose lips and hips that swivel will dig this sleek, funky track from Zimbabwe-born Kwaye. New EP Love & Affliction is out this week.

Contact Dan Carson
dan@they-do.com

 

CHARLI XCX (FEAT. TROYE SIVAN)
1999 (Atlantic)

Anne-Marie went back to 2002, and now Charli XCX is going back to 1999, with fellow neon-popper Troye Sivan in tow. Regressive, in a good way.

Contact Claire Coster
claire.coster@atlanticrecords.co.uk

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...