Gregory Porter announces new album Nat King Cole & Me

Gregory Porter announces new album Nat King Cole & Me


Gregory Porter has announced his new album Nat King Cole & Me will be released on Decca/Blue Note on October 27. The album is a personal tribute to Nat King Cole and also marks the first time Gregory has recorded with a full orchestra.

Speaking about the record, Porter said: “It’s only natural that I go to the root of my inspiration and where I come from. And that root would be my mother and gospel music and Nat King Cole. At five or six years old, Nat’s music filled a void in me. My father wasn’t in my life and wasn’t showing interest in me or raising me and Nat’s words were the life lessons, words of wisdom and fatherly advice I needed. He was one of a kind. He left such great music – such beautiful things to listen to that you can’t help but be influenced by that extraordinary timbre, style, and ultimate cool.”

Recorded at London’s AIR Studios, the 12-track album features some of Porter’s favourite Nat King Cole tunes including Smile, L-O-V-E and Nature Boy. There is also a Cole-inspired arrangement of Porter’s own song When Love Was King, originally released on his album, Liquid Spirit.

You can see the Nat King Cole & Me tracklisting below:


1. Mona Lisa

2. Smile

3. Nature Boy

4. L-O-V-E

5. Quizas, Quizas, Quizas

6. Miss Otis Regrets

7. Pick Yourself Up

8. When Love Was King (arrangement of an original Gregory Porter composition from Liquid Spirit)

9. The Lonely One

10. Ballerina

11. I Wonder Who My Daddy Is

12. The Christmas Song

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...