The Music Week Playlist: April 3, 2019

The Music Week Playlist: April 3, 2019

Music Week's guide to the most essential tracks of the moment.

TAME IMPALA
Patience (Fiction)
On this light and breezy return, studio wizard Kevin Parker aims for disco and ends up somewhere slower and more addled, seemingly after dozing off for a bit. The drums are brilliant.
Contact Duncan Jordan
duncan@bellaunion.com

PEGGY GOU
Starry Night (Gudu Records)
Peggy Gou’s first release on her own label has a bassline that stalks by like an angry peacock. Sun-bleached keys balance things out nicely.
Contact Dean Driscoll
dean@deandriscoll.de

PINKY PINKY
Do Me Dirty (Charlie) (Innovative Leisure)
Make room in your life for Pinky Pinky and their chiming indie hits. The Los Angeles trio hit the UK for the first time in May.
Contact Kate Price
kate@stereosanctity.co.uk

STEEL BANGLEZ (FEAT. AJ TRACEY & MOSTACK)
Fashion Week (Gifted Music)
We all like clothes, but few like them as much as AJ Tracey, who hooks up on this chilled out rap track with fellow threads fans Steel Banglez and Mostack.
Contact Kat Bawden
kat@dedikatedpr.com

BECKY HILL
I Could Get Used To This (Polydor)
Thanks to Becky Hill’s voice, I Could Get Used To This is injected with palpable emotion, elevating it above your run of the mill dance record.
Contact Susie Ember
susie.ember@umusic.com

RUSS SPLASH X TION WAYNE
Keisha & Becky (Virgin EMI)
Russ Splash teams up with Tion Wayne to fling bars over a languid, minimal beat on a song that adds more weight to his chances of breaking big.
Contact Karim Khan
karim.khan@lucidonline.co.uk

CATE LE BON
Daylight Matters (Kemado Records)
Cate Le Bon introduces new LP Reward (May 24) with this wintry waltz. Her repetitions of ‘I love you’ help thaw the icy atmosphere with melody.
Contact Nisa Kelly
nisa.kelly@goodmachinepr.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...