The Music Week Playlist: August 16, 2018

The Music Week Playlist: August 16, 2018

RAY BLK
Run Run (Island)

The Catford queen’s first single for Island is an uncompromising examination of gun and knife crime. Set to booming bass, Blk’s lyrics draw from personal experience. There’s an excellent video, too.

Contact Shane O’Neill
shane.oneill@umusic.com

 

YONAKA
Waves (Asylum Records)

What a noisy bunch Yonaka are. From the Brighton foursome’s new EP Teach Me To Fight (out this week), this is another three-minute monster.

Contact Claire Coster
claire.coster@atlanticrecords.co.uk

 

ZAYN (FEAT. TIMBALAND)
Too Much (RCA)

Using spacey haze and faraway vocals, Zayn Malik and Timbaland combine on a loose, sad new jam. Does this signal a move into Frank Ocean territory?

Contact Anna Meacham
anna@huxley.world

 

PRETTY VICIOUS
Move (Big Machine/John Varvatos Records)

The Welsh whippersnappers sound feral on this first single under their new record deal. “Music is my one release,” they sing, and it sounds like it.

Contact James Windle
james.windle@dawbell.com

 

ROBYN
Missing U (Konichiwa Records)

No one does slushy floorfillers quite like Robyn. The Swedish magician is back with another banger, with Metronomy’s Joe Mount helping out on production.

Contact Chloe Melick
chloe@insideslashout.com

 

JAAKKO EINO KALEVI
Emotions In Motion (Domino)

Finnish chiller Jaakko Eino Kalevi says his new album Out Of Touch (October 12) is about escapism. Zone out to this brass-fuelled lead track at once.

Contact Aoife Kitt
aoife@dominorecordco.com

 

KOJO FUNDS (FEAT. BUGZY MALONE)
Who Am I (Atlantic)

East London meets Manchester as Kojo Funds teams up with Bugzy Malone on a minimal shuffler that showcases two leading lights of UK rap’s new order.

Contact Ebi Sampson
ebi.sampson@atlanticrecords.co.uk

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...