The Music Week Playlist: August 28, 2017

The Music Week Playlist: August 28, 2017

Renz
Anyting,
New Gen

The first release on the new XL Recordings imprint is a solid gold summer jam from Renz, who starred on January’s New Gen compilation.

Contact Leah Wilson
leahwilson@xlrecordings.com

Pale Waves
Television Romance,
Dirty Hit

Fresh from the Dirty Hit stable, this is lovelorn, full of scratchy guitar and contains a killer chorus. Pale Waves are having quite a year.

Contact Elliot Mitchell
elliot@braceyourselfpr.com

Car Seat Headrest
War Is Coming (If You Want It),
Matador

 
Will Toledo returns with an explicit, bare bones indie-rock song about “not murdering people”. His message is as pure as the riffs are ragged.

Contact Noam Klar
noam@matadorrecords.com

Jaded
In The Morning,
Black Butter Records

The dance trio have got a real banger on their hands: this is already blowing the minds of unsuspecting Disclosure fans everywhere.

Contact Karim Khan
karim.khan@lucidonline.co.uk

Dead Pretties
Confidence,
Big Score Records

Here are London trio Dead Pretties, with a bassline caked in muck and scum and a chorus that bounces like a rusty jack-in-the-box.

Contact Matthew Fogg
matthew@carryonpress.co.uk

Xenoula
Chief Of Tin,
Weird World

Romy Xeno moved to the UK from South Africa at 16 and weaves influences from her travels into this trippy debut for Weird World.

Contact Aoife Kitt
aoife@dominorecordco.com


Miley Cyrus
Younger Now,
RCA

“Change is a thing you can count on”, sings Miley, getting all introspective on the title-track for her new record, which drops September 29.

Contact Sarah Hall
sarah.hall@sonymusic.com

 

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...