The Music Week Playlist: February 20, 2017

The Music Week Playlist: February 20, 2017

The Magic Gang
How Can I Compete,
Yala! Records

An indie-rock song that grooves, shuffles, clatters and even comes with bonus “la la la”s. The Brighton mob’s latest is one of their strongest yet.

Contact Andy Prevezer
andy.prevezer@warnermusic.com

Aldous Harding
Horizon,
4AD

Wrought from piano and distinctive, eerie vocals, the New Zealander’s first track for 4AD is all about suspense and drama. It’ll make you shudder.
Contact Annette Lee
annettelee@4ad.com

Jamiroquai
Cloud 9,
Virgin EMI

Jay Kay is back, and not with the Transformers-style science project his initial teaser video suggested. This is lively, and in no way tragic.
Contact Tanya Keogh
tanya.keogh@purplepr.com

Cabbage
Gibraltar Ape,
Skeleton Key Records

Enjoy this muddy, weird new single and then see the Salford band live. They’re touring through February, March and April.
Contact Chris Latham
chris@swellpublicity.com

Off Bloom
Falcon Eye,
Sport Records/Polydor

This crisp, thumping new single from the Danish trio, out now, will be a real treat for fans of MØ, Haim and almost annoyingly catchy pop choruses.
Contact Susie Ember
susie.ember@umusic.com

Stevie Parker
Without You,
Virgin EMI

 
Rolling drums and a bristling vocal show a fuller side to the Bath songwriter than last year’s minimal and altogether sadder Blue EP.

Contact Iris Herscovici
iris@reallifepr.com

Anne-Marie
Ciao, Adios,
Major Toms/Asylum Records

Jaded by January and fed up with February, Anne-Marie returns with a pop sizzler that serves as a teleport to an 18-30s boat party.
Contact Claire Coster
claire.coster@atlanticrecords.co.uk

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...