The Music Week Playlist: February 26, 2018

The Music Week Playlist: February 26, 2018

 Janelle Monáe
Make Me Feel (Atlantic)

Janelle Monáe is a proper pop star. This comeback surprises at every turn, as minimal, funky production builds purposefully to a fireball crescendo.

Contact: Ebi Sampson
ebi.sampson@atlanticrecords.co.uk


Parquet Courts Almost Had To Start
A Fight/In And Out Of Patience (Rough Trade)

The Brooklyn refuseniks are back with a brilliant, typically wordy first cut from their upcoming sixth LP, which was produced by Danger Mouse.

Contact: Jamie Woolgar
jamiewoolgar@roughtraderecords.com


Manic Street Preachers
Distant Colours (Columbia/Sony)

It’s another one from the Manics’ 13th (!) album, Resistance Is Futile. Distant Colours is epic, but you probably knew that already.

Contact: Gillian Porter
gillian@hallornothing.com


YG
Suu Whoop (4Hunnid/Def Jam/Virgin)

Fresh from collaborating with the NBA on a celebrity basketball match and concert, the Compton rapper drops a muddy, bassy banger.

Contact: Imran Malik
malik@imran-malik.com


Everything Is Recorded (feat. Giggs)
Wet Looking Road (XL)

One of the best cuts from XL owner Richard Russell’s new project, this finds Giggs in laid-back mode, spitting over Keith Hudson’s reggae beat.

Contact: Jon Wilkinson
jon@technique-pr.com


Amen Dunes
Blue Rose (Sacred Bones)

This is one of Damon McMahon’s most complete Amen Dunes recordings yet, matching lyrical pain and suffering with zoned out guitars.

Contact: Nathan Beazer
nathan@dogdaypress.com


Frank Ocean
Moon River (Blonded)

Frank Ocean is for life, not just Valentine’s Day, which is why this seasonal cover warrants repeat plays. He really has got a way with a weepy.

Contact: Anna Meacham
anna.meacham@purplepr.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...