The Music Week Playlist: February 27, 2019

Cardi B & Bruno Mars

Music Week’s guide to the most essential tracks of the moment…

CARDI B & BRUNO MARS
Please Me (Atlantic)

How to follow Grammys success? Release another pop monolith with Bruno Mars, of course! This new collab follows last year’s Finesse, and is surely primed to hang around just as long.

Contact Claire Coster
claire.coster@atlanticrecords.co.uk

ALDOUS HARDING
The Barrel (4AD)

Aldous Harding tees up new album Designer (April 27) with the lilting strains of The Barrel, which comes with a fantastically odd video.

Contact Annette Lee
annettelee@4ad.com

ZEDD & KATY PERRY
365 (Interscope)

Katy Perry and Zedd shared musical ideas while on tour and the result is 365, a spacey musing on the possibilities of robots falling in love. Zany!

Contact Claire Coulton
claire.coulton@s-414.com

J RICK
Short (Essie)

Having made beats for Octavian’s breakout Party Here, Tottenham’s J Rick steps out on his own with three bubbling, exploratory minutes.

Contact Imran Malik
malik@imran-malik.com

REX ORANGE COUNTY
New House (Rex Orange County)

New House is a busy and brilliant story of life as a musician in demand. “Everybody needs something all the fucking time,” sings Rex, exhaustedly.

Contact Carl Fysh
carl.fysh@s-414.com

JULIA JACKLIN
Comfort (Transgressive Records)

The folky first offering from Julia Jacklin’s second album, Crushing (February 22) is threadbare in the extreme and heart-wrenching, too.

Contact Natalie Quesnel
natalie@reallifepr.com

DENIS LLOYD
Never Go Back (Arista Records)

Did you know Denis Lloyd’s Nevermind has 437 million streams on Spotify? Only time will tell if this slinky, rasping new single can scale similar heights.

Contact Kat Bawden
kat@dedikatedpr.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...