The Music Week Playlist: January 30, 2017

The Music Week Playlist: January 30, 2017

Julia Michaels
Issues,
Polydor/Republic Records

Having written pop bangers for Justin Bieber, Selena Gomez and others, the Iowa songwriter is going it alone with one of her own. Remember the name.

Contact Susie Ember
susie.ember@umusic.com

Rat Columns
Someone Else’s Dream
Upset The Rhythm

Got a taste for mould-mottled ‘80s indie 7”s and bad breath? You’ll love the Australians’ latest, from the album Candle Power, out March 3.
Contact Chris Tipton
upset_the_rhythm@yahoo.com

Maggie Rogers
Now That The Light Is Fading EP
Polydor

Support from Pharrell Williams sent Rogers viral last summer, but the earthiness of this debut EP suggests she’d have been just fine without him.
Contact Jon Lawrence
jon@chalkpressagency.com

Real Estate
Darling
Domino

Another instantaneous indie single from New Jersey’s breeziest. This, from In Mind out March 17, will sound great as the evenings get lighter.

Contact Aoife Kitt
aoife@dominorecordco.com

Sigrid
Don’t Kill My Vibe
Island

If you kill this 20-year-old Norwegian singer’s vibe, she’ll write an icy, dramatic pop song about it, you’ll hear it and think, Ouch.
Contact Elspeth Merry
elspeth.merry@umusic.com

Pulled Apart By Horses
Hotel Motivation
Amplify Music

In which new drummer Tommy Davidson and producer Ross Orton beef up the Leeds foursome’s bid to be remembered as Yorkshire’s loudest.
Contact James Sherry
james@divisionpromotions.com

Stefflon Don & Abra Cadabra
Money Haffi Mek
XL Recordings

Want to know why lots of people are very excited about Stefflon Don? Spin this trippy, low-slung club jam to find out.
Contact Leah Wilson
leahwilson@xlrecordings.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...