The Music Week Playlist: July 31 2017

The Music Week Playlist: July 31  2017

Joy Crookes
Influence EP,
Self-released

Five tracks of modern soul make up the 18-year-old South Londoner’s debut EP. It’s big-hearted, emotional and gritty too.

Contact Milly Stockton
milly.stockton@wma.agency

The Cribs
Rainbow Ridge,
Sonic Blew (via Red Essential)

With Steve Albini back behind the glass, this is a red raw, guttural intro to album number seven (due August 11) from Wakefield’s finest.

Contact Paddy Davis
Paddy.Davis@pias.com

Little Simz
Customz,
Age 101

A woozy, unmastered new one from Simbi Ajikawo. Check out Astronote’s drifting, hazy production, which is as engrossing as the MC’s bars.

Contact Monique Wallace
monique@worldwidefriendlysociety.com

The War On Drugs
Strangest Thing,
Atlantic

When it comes to epic Americana, Adam Granduciel has been places, done a great deal and come away with a truckload of T-shirts. This is mega.

Contact Duncan Jordan
duncan@bellaunion.com

Skinny Living
Why,
RCA Records

New on RCA, the acoustic soul outfit arrive with a stark, affecting single that finds frontman Ryan Johnston addressing mental health.

Contact Ash Collins
ash.collins@sonymusic.com

Cadet (feat. Ghetts)
Don’t Take It Personal,
Underrated Legends

From the South Londoner’s grimy EP, The Commitment 2, this is fearsome. Ghetts’ furious guest spot will make you quake, too.

Contact Shireen Fenner
shireen@tenletter.co.uk

Superfood
Unstoppable,
Dirty Hit

Dubby, loose and danceable, this is Superfood like you’ve never seen them before. New album Bambino comes out September 8.

Contact Thom Denson
thom@braceyourselfpr.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...