The Music Week Playlist: May 29, 2017

The Music Week Playlist: May 29, 2017

J Hus
Common Sense,
Black Butter

Help J Hus celebrate hitting No.6 with his debut album by spinning its lead track, which is more summery than a paddling pool filled with Mr Whippy.

Contact Imran Malik
malik@imran-malik.com


Naomi Punk

Tiger Pipe,
Captured Tracks

The first taste of an upcoming double LP from the Olympia, Washington punk freaks, this somehow manages to straddle discordant and sedative.

Contact Keong Woo
keong.woo@goodmachinepr.com


Sparks
What The Hell Is It This Time?,
BMG

A mad, theatrical song now has a mad, theatrical video to go with it. But best of all are the jagged electronic bedrocks underneath the melody.

Contact Asher Alexander
asher@republicmedia.net


Downtown Boys
A Wall,
Sub Pop

Drums like cascading rubble and parping brass can only mean one thing: the Rhode Island punks return. This, from their Sub Pop debut, is huge.

Contact Joe Parry
joe@insideslashout.com


Katy Perry (feat. Nicki Minaj)
Swish Swish,
Capitol Records/Virgin EMI

K-Pez ushers us into the club, but what’s inside? A housey beat, the odd euphoric drop and fire-breathing rap dragon Nicki Minaj.

Contact Janet Choudhury
janet.choudhury@umusic.com


Selena Gomez
Bad Liar,
Interscope/Polydor

What’s this? Yes, it’s a pop song that requires some thought. The verses wirggle just out of reach, the chorus is oddly slow and the result is superb.

Contact Stephanie Duncan-Bosu
stephanie.duncan-bosu@umusic.com

Sløtface
Magazine,
Propeller Recordings

Pop-punk doesn’t come much more convincing than this these days. Magazine is made for Tipp-Ex’d backpacks and battered Vans.

Contact Thom Denson
thom@braceyourselfpr.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...