The Music Week Playlist: Thursday, May 9

Taylor Swift ft. Brendon Urie

Music Week's guide to the most essential tracks of the moment.

TAYLOR SWIFT (FEAT. BRENDON URIE)
Me! (Virgin EMI)

Pop’s landscape continues to shift, and Taylor Swift returns intent on cementing her place at its pinnacle. “I promise that you’ll never find another like me”, she sings. Consider yourselves told.

Contact Kate Head
kate@stokedpr.com

STORMZY
Vossi Bop (#Merky/Atlantic)

At first, Vossi Bop seems a little low key for Big Mike’s comeback, but its verses hit harder with each listen and the chorus assumes gigantic proportions.

Contact Rachel Campbell
rachel@wired-pr.co.uk

BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN
Hello Sunshine (Columbia)

The Boss is back, sounding lonesome and weathered as his hummed passages emphasise the immediacy of this sun-baked ballad.

Contact Giovanna Ferin
giovanna@bigmouthpublicity.co.uk

FKA TWIGS
Cellophane (Young Turks)

FKA Twigs returns after three years with a vulnerable love song that comes with an acrobatic video beamed in from another dimension. Mind-scrambling.

Contact Jon Wilkinson
jon@technique-pr.com

THE RHYTHM METHOD
Sex And The Suburbs (Moshi Moshi)

Ahead of debut LP How Would You Know I Was Lonely? The Rhythm Method return with a closing-time bop that’s perfect for a night on the lagers.

Contact Noam Klar
noam@fullcourtpr.com

MARIKA HACKMAN
I’m Not Where You Are (AMF Records)

For a song about broken relationships, I’m Not Where You Are is remarkably sunny, with synths falling like shards of brilliant sunlight.

Contact Sinead Mills
sinead@practisemusic.co.uk

BLEACHED
Hard To Kill (Dead Oceans)

Bleached sound clear-headed and effervescent on the intro track to their third album (due July 12). This sticks two fingers up at self-destruction.

Contact Caroline Beashel
cbeashel@secretlygroup.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...