AIM Awards return for 2018

AIM Awards return for 2018

The Association of Independent Music (AIM) has announced details of the 2018 edition of its AIM Awards, with CEO Paul Pacifico saying it “stands as an example to the wider music industry”.

With the ceremony to take place at The Brewery in London on September 4, submissions are now open to both members and non-members. BBC Radio 1Xtra presenter MistaJam will return as host.

Paul Pacifico commented: “Each year the broad list of nominees demonstrates the hard-won strength and inclusivity of the independent sector – we stand as an example to the wider music industry.

“On the night we honour the inspirational work of independent labels and the tireless dedication of the teams and individuals that run them. Independent music of all genres continues to move from strength to strength, proudly recognised at the AIM Awards.”

MistaJam said: “I’m pleased to be a part of this celebration for the third year running. The AIM Awards are a really important set of accolades with the spotlight on the independent sector having never been so bright!”

The AIM Awards comprises 16 categories including Independent Track and Album, Pioneer, Indie Champion, Small Label and Independent Label. The award for Best Live Act is decided by a public vote, while a judging panel including BBC Radio 1’s Huw Stephens, 6 Music’s Steve Lamacq, 1Xtra’s DJ target, DICE FM’s Leonie Cooper and BBC Later With Jools Holland producer Alison Howe will decide the remaining categories.

Stormzy, The xx and Because Music were among last year’s winners, for the full list click here. Revisit the best moments from last year’s bash here.

Tickets for the ceremony are now on sale and are available from £115. The prince includes dinner, drinks receptions, live performances and access to the after party. The deadline for entries is 8pm on June 26.

2018 Categories:

Independent Track of the Year
Independent Album of the Year
Best Live Act
Independent Video of the Year - in association with Vevo
UK Breakthrough of the Year
International Breakthrough of the Year
Best Small Label
Independent Label of the Year - in association with Believe
Best Sophomore Release
Best Creative Packaging
Hardest Working Group or Artist
Indie Champion Award
PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act
Innovator Award - in association with Fuga
Outstanding Contribution to Music
Pioneer Award

For more stories like this, and to keep up to date with all our market leading news, features and analysis, sign up to receive our daily Morning Briefing newsletter

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...