The Music Week Playlist: August 14, 2019

Haim

This week's hottest new sounds...

HAIM
Summer Girl (Polydor)

In the best possible way, Haim’s comeback sounds like it’s about to fall asleep. It’s infused with summer heat, as vocals flutter and brass breezes by. An intriguing change of pace.

Contact Susie Ember
susie.ember@umusic.com

BROCKHAMPTON
I Been Born Again (Question Everything/RCA)

A whispered intro gives way to minimal raps, Dennis Rodman shout-outs and a scratchy beat on Brockhampton’s new one. Good and weird in equal measure.

Contact Louise Mayne
Louise@wecarealotpr.com

RAYE
Love Me Again (Polydor)

Raye’s recent Beyoncé co-write on Bigger was another step towards the big time, and so too is this snappy, lovelorn new single.

Contact Simon Jones
simon@simonjonespr.com

THE BIG MOON
It’s Easy Then (Fiction)

The Big Moon’s first new song since 2017’s debut LP sounds like a day at the fairground, a head-spinning combo of zapping keys and melody.

Contact Jon Lawrence
jon@chalkpressagency.co.uk

ARIANA GRANDE & SOCIAL HOUSE
Boyfriend (Republic/Polydor)

Ariana Grande and Social House wrestle with the age-old problem of love not working out on this new single, sprinkled with magic chart dust.

Contact Elspeth Merry
elspeth.merry@umusic.com

YEBBA
Where Do You Go? (Yebba)

Fresh from features with Mark Ronson and Ed Sheeran, the 24-year-old Arkansas singer releases this nugget of nocturnal pop. Surely a future star.

Contact Paul Guimaraes
paul.guimaraes@misfitpublicity.com

ANGEL OLSEN
All Mirrors (Jagjaguwar)

If the end of the world were to be celebrated with one big, luxurious mega-ball, Angel Olsen would surely sing us out. LP four is due in October.

Contact Nathan Beazer
nathan@dogdaypress.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...