The Music Week Playlist: August 21, 2019

The Music Week Playlist: August 21, 2019

This week's hottest new sounds...

BAT FOR LASHES
The Hunger (Kobalt)

Interweaving pipe organs, an elastic bass and expansive beats, Natasha Khan teases her September-due fifth studio album Lost Girls with this enveloping breeze of dystopian disco.

Contact Keong Woo
keong.woo@goodmachinepr.com

 

TONY NJOKU
Hapless (Silent Kid Records)

Expanding out of a cascade of keyboards and clicks, the up-and-coming London singer-songwriter’s emotive vocals swell with devastating effect.

Contact James Crosley
james@9pr.co.uk

 

SHARDS
Unrest (Erased Tapes)

Evocative new single from the innovative choir blends sense-dazzling vocals, beats and synths ahead of forthcoming debut album Find Sound.

Contact Sinead Mills
sinead@practisemusic.co.uk

 

L’EPEE
The Last Picture Show (A Recordings)

French psych duo The Limiñanas are very collaborative, so a supergroup was inevitable. Boasting Anton Newcombe and more, the ‘super’ tag is justified.

Contact: Alix Wenmouth
alix@wastedyouthpr.com

 

SEA GIRLS
Violet (Polydor)

With a chorus big enough to float a battleship, the quartet return with a heart-pounding anthem ready-made for euphoric, beer-soaked mosh pits.

Contact Barbara Charone
bc@mbcpr.com

 

TYLA YAWEH
Salute (Epic Records)

Discovered by – and said to be on the next album of – Post Malone, Florida rapper Tyla Yaweh is menacingly tuneful ahead of his Reading & Leeds debut.

Contact Ash Collins
ash@drystonepress.co.uk

 

KATY PERRY
Small Talk (Virgin EMI)

Ruminating on post relationship interactions (and “sliced bread”) Katy Perry returns with this bouncy Charlie Puth-produced summer banger.

Contact Janet Choudhury
Janet.Choudhury@umusic.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...