The Music Week Playlist: August 29

Normani

This week's hottest new sounds...

NORMANI
Motivation (Keep Cool/RCA)

With a high class video recalling the hyper-choreographed golden age that was the early noughties, Normani’s first single under her own name is a dizzying delight. Super-stardom surely beckons.

Contact Carl Fysh
carl.fysh@s-414.com

MICHAEL KIWANUKA
You Ain’t The Problem (Polydor)

Stomping drums, B-movie backing vocals and a ludicrously irresistible groove accompany the Londoner’s return ahead of third album Kiwanuka in October.

Contact Jon Lawrence
jon@chalkpressagency.co.uk

GIRL BAND
Going Norway (Rough Trade)

With assaulting cymbals, arresting guitar drops and the best bit of hollering you’ll hear all year, Girl Band are taking no prisoners here.

Contact Jamie Woolgar
jamiewoolgar@roughtraderecords.com

PVRIS
Hallucinations (Warner Records/Reprise)

The gothic Massachusetts crew amp up anticipation ahead of their new EP with some crunching yet floor-friendly beats and distorted vocals.

Contact Phoebe Sinclair
phoebe.sinclair@warnermusic.com

CHARLI XCX (FEAT. SKY FERREIRA)
Cross You Out (Asylum)

Turning up the heat ahead of upcoming LP Charli, the pop monolith teams up with Sky Ferreira on a song cooler than you could ever dream of being.

Contact Anna Meacham
anna@huxley.world

THE MURDER CAPITAL
More Is Less (Human Season)

Here’s a dollop of riotous angst from the Dubliners, with ticking post-punk guitars and swaggering outrage. Cop debut album When I Have Fears now.

Contact Will Vincent
will@prescriptionpr.co.uk

TONES AND I
Dance Monkey (Parlophone)

Ex-busker Toni Watson is exploding out of Australia and going worldwide with her vapoury pop. She debuts in the UK at The Lexington in November.

Contact Kat Bawden
kat@dedikatedpr.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...