The Music Week Playlist: August 7, 2019

Mabel

This week’s hottest new sounds…

MABEL
Bad Behaviour (Polydor)

Being a bona fide hitmaker suits Mabel, and this low-slung new single heralds the long-anticipated arrival of her High Expectations album. Time to sit back and watch the numbers rack up.

Contact Rob Chute
rob@toastpress.com

KOJEY RADICAL
2020 (Atlantic)

Kojey Radical attempts his every musical endeavour with boundless ambition, which he matches on the rasping, rocking 2020 with explosive energy.

Contact Jenna Knight
jenna@jennaknight.co.uk

BLACK COUNTRY, NEW ROAD
Sunglasses (BC,NR/Speedy Wunderground)

Here are eight minutes that prove that few new bands operate in the same lane as Black Country, New Road. This is loud, mazy and sharp as hell.

Contact James Parrish
james@prescriptionpr.co.uk

COUNTY LINE RUNNER
Our Little World (Kid In A Korner/Polydor)

County Line Runner (aka Adam Day) is the latest addition to Polydor’s growing roster of guitar acts, and this motoring stoner groove is his best work yet.

Contact Ant Giannaccini
anthony@mbcpr.com

SMITH & THELL (FEAT. SWEDISH JAM FACTORY)
Forgive Me Friend (Insanity)

This saccharine pop confection is growing into a streaming monster across Europe. Now, Swedish duo Smith & Thell are coming for the UK.

Contact Emily Cooper
emily@everythingcountspr.com

THE 1975
The 1975 (Dirty Hit)

The 1975 continue to push for change, as teenage activist Greta Thunberg speaks powerfully on the first cut from album four. The countdown is on.

Contact Susie Ember
susie.ember@umusic.com

TAYLOR SWIFT
The Archer (Virgin EMI)

Taylor Swift’s new one revels in beautiful minimalism, which makes its majestic melancholy all the more enjoyable. Bullseye!

Contact Kate Head
kate@stokedpr.com

subscribe link free-trial link

follow us...